Rescrapher!

The story began in the month of July during my routine visit to my tailor for some dress stitching. i came across the amount of fabric which gets wasted in the process of making one dress,I casually inquired about what happened to the leftover fabric. To my surprise, the response was that it would be discarded. I was like thats a lot! he said yes that too on daily basis!!

I went back home without uttering any word, but this concept of wastage was still lingering on my mind. It occupied my thoughts throughout the week, , wastage not to be wasted. As I went back again to collect my dress i casually asked him can i take a few scrap fabric which you generally throw away and he obliged, I just took without any plan of action. Another week passed with just thoughts on what to do with these, and that is when my DD said hey my bday is cmg up what are u planning to give as return gifts to my classmates? I was like oh wait, need to think on it . over a period of time i have become more conscious on what i use and how meaningful the thing is , My friends can vouch for my habit of giving them lectures on reducing plastic usage and similar topics, and so, the same consciousness extended to selecting gifts. i wanted to do something economical and environment friendly.

That is when my research started , late nights instead of browsing instagam i started researching on and when i had a lot of scrap material in hand thought why not use it , creativity was automatically flowing and ideas where in millions on the internet. After a day or 2 of late night R & D i zeroed on cutlery holder, see it was working 3 ways- 1. as a return gift, 2. use waste fabric already in hand 3. saves environment as we can carry own cutlery!

Bang on ! I had an old neighbour who does tailoring in her free time , told her the concept and gave her a trial piece to do after a attempt or two she got a hold of it. Gave her the fabric and yes my gifts where ready! A simple but an ecofriendly gift to the next generation, and so is also rescrapher born too, RESCRAPHER, ” re- use one scrap at a time “, have many many ideas in mind too but financially its a krunch for me as well because what ever products i do mostly i m giving it for free and I am neither Ambani’s wife nor have a Sewing machine of my own so everything is coming with a cost! well lets see how and where it goes!

Oh BTW did I send these as returns gifts to her school ?? NO , there is something more to it ! let me cover it in the next post !

Leave a comment